The Iowa Dental Association is a state constituent society of the American Dental Association. Iowa is in the Tenth District of the ADA, along with Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota. The IDA is governed by the Board of Trustees.

The IDA also maintains various councils and committees which oversee a variety of areas important to the Iowa Dental Association and its members.

Board of Trustees

The IDA Board of Trustees consists of one trustee from each of the 10 component district societies, the New Dentist Committee Chair , along with the President, President-Elect, and the Vice President.  In addition, the Immediate Past President serves as an advisory member of the Board.