Iowa News

Dr. Nathan Hehr Installed as IDA President

In a typical year, the installation of IDA officers and trustees would have been conducted during the IDA annual session. As we know, this has not been “a typical year." We have all learned to be flexible and to do things a little differently as a result of the pandemic, including the installation of officers and trustees, which took place during a recent virtual IDA Board Meeting. During the meeting, Dr. Nathan Hehr from Mason City was installed as the 2020-2021 Iowa Dental Association President, along with the following new officers and trustees:
  • Dr. Zach Kouri, Des Moines, IDA President-Elect
  • Dr. John Arend, Independence, IDA Vice President
  • Dr. Tim DeStigter, Aurelia, Northwest District Dental Society Trustee
  • Dr. Michael Stufflebeam, Marshalltown, Waterloo District Dental Society Trustee
Also during the meeting, the now IDA Immediate Past President Dr. Ryan Stuntz was recognized for his work on behalf of the association and the profession of dentistry during this past year, and most notably the past 10 weeks of the COVID-19 pandemic. In addition, the Board recognized Past President Dr. Marty Gleason from Fairfield and Dr. Shamayne Frank from Sioux City, whose service to the Board has ended. A formal presentation to membership is being planned once restrictions regarding meeting sizes are lifted. Please join us in recognizing all the IDA Board of Trustees for their work and congratulating the newly installed officers and trustees, including Dr. Hehr who has provided a special message to IDA members in the video below.