Iowa Dental Political Action Committee (IDPAC)

The Iowa Dental Political Action Committee (IDPAC) is a grassroots network of dentists committed to educating their local elected and appointed state policy makers on issues affecting dentistry. It is a voluntary, nonprofit, unincorporated committee of individual dentists and others and is not affiliated with any political party. The Committee is an independent, autonomous organization and is not a branch or subsidiary of any national or other political action committee.

The purposes of the Committee are:
  1. To promote and strive for the improvement of government by encouraging dentists and others to take a more active and effective role in government affairs.
  2. To encourage dentists and others to understand the nature and actions of their government, as to important political issues, and as to the records of office-holders and candidates for elective office.
  3. To assist dentists and others in organizing themselves for more effective political action and in carrying out their civic responsibilities.
Membership is open to any dentist, their spouse, members of their immediate family, and others, subject to payment of an annual contribution to the Committee. Categories of membership and contributions are established by the Board of Directors. The Board consists of not more than 20 members who serve staggered three-year terms of office. There is an annual meeting held at a date and time selected by the chair, and special meetings may be called.

To make a contribution, click here.

Iowa Dentists are Encouraged to Run for the Iowa Legislature!  Below you will find a list of open seats for the upcoming session.

Iowa Legislative Retirements


House District 5: Plymouth and Woodbury
Status: Solid Republican
Population Center(s): LeMars

Announced Candidates: Dr. Tom Jeneary (R): retired dentist, Vice Chair of the Iowa Dental Board of Examiners.


House District 9: Webster
Status: Lean Democratic
Population Center(s): Ft. Dodge

Announced Candidates: Ann Meyer (R): Clinical Nurse Instructor, Iowa Central Community College; has raised $27,000 for campaign.

House District 19: Dallas
Status: Solid Republican
Population Center(s): Adel, Dallas Center, Woodward
Announced Candidates:
Rep. Chris Hagenow (R): Hagenow is the House Majority Leader is moving into this district.  Richard Dedor (Independent): lives in Urbandale, co-founded GoSprout Media and is on the board of directors for the Iowa Alzheimer’s Association.

House District 20: Guthrie, Adair, Cass, Dallas
Status: Solid Republican
Population Center(s): Perry, Guthrie Center, Panora, Greenfield

Announced Candidates: Ray “Bubba� Sorensen II (R): resides in Greenfield, is a small business owner and Freedom Rock artist.
Warren Varley (D): resides in Stuart and is an attorney in Stuart.


House District 43: Polk
Status: Tossup
Population Center(s): Windsor Heights, Clive

Announced candidates: Michael Boal (R): Windsor Heights resident, attorney at the Parrish-Kruidenier Law Firm in Des Moines.


House District 44: Dallas
Status: Lean Republican
Population Center(s): Clive, Waukee, West Des Moines

Announced Candidates: Kenan Judge (D): resides in Waukee and is a retired Hy-Vee executive.

House District 56: Allamakee, Clayton
Status: Lean Republican
Population Center(s): Waukon, Lansing, McGregor, Guttenberg
Announced Candidates: Lori Egan (D): lives in Waukon and serves as the Health Programs Director at Northeast Iowa Community Action Agency and is the favored Democratic nominee.
Andy Kelleher (D): New Albin resident and currently works at Frawley’s Saw Shop.


House District 68: Linn
Status: Lean Democrat
Population Center(s): Marion, Bertram, Ely
Announced Candidates: Scott Foens (D): Air Force veteran, works for City of Cedar Rapids in land and asset management.
Molly Donahue (D): behavior disabilities teach for Cedar Rapids public schools; ran against Rizer in 2016.


House District 75: Benton, Iowa
Status: Lean Republican
Population Center(s): Vinton, Belle Plaine, Marengo
Announced Candidates: Tom Gerhold (R): resident of Atkins, Research Associate in the Department of Internal Medicine at the University Of Iowa Carver College Of Medicine.
Paula Denison (D): resident of Van Horne, independent insurance agent through Farmers Insurance, ran and lost by more than 30% to Pettengill in 2016.


House District 79: Mahaska, Marion
Status: Strong Republican
Population Center(s): Oskaloosa, Pella
Announced Candidates: Dustin Hite (R): current mayor of New Sharon and an attorney in Oskaloosa.

House District 83: Lee
Status: Strong Democrat
Population Center(s): Ft. Madison, Keokuk
Announced Candidates: No announced candidates at this time. 


House District 84: Henry, Washington, Jefferson, and Lee
Status: Strong Republican
Population Center(s): Mt. Pleasant
Announced Candidates: No announced candidates at this time. 

House District 99: Dubuque
Status: Strong Democrat
Population Center(s): Dubuque
Announced Candidates: Lindsay James Beals (D): Presbyterian pastor and education, has raised over $34,000 for her campaign.
Brad Cavanaugh (D): Loras College Professor of Social Work, raised $13,000 for his campaign.
Pat Cullen (D): small business owner.

Senate Retirements

Senate District 21: Polk
Status: Strong Democrat
Population Center(s): Des Moines (South), West Des Moines, Cumming

Announced Candidates: Claire Celsi (D): resident of Des Moines, owns her own marketing and public relations firm.
Connie Ryan Terrel (D): resident of Des Moines, executive director of Interfaith Alliance of Iowa.

Senate District 35: Linn
Status: Strong Democrat
Population Center(s): Cedar Rapids (Southwest), Fairfax
Announced Candidates: Todd Taylor (D): currently serving in the Iowa House, AFSCME Representative.


Senate District 37: Johnson and Cedar
Status: Strong Democrat
Population Center(s): Coralville, Solon, West Branch, Tipton
Announced Candidates: Zach Wahls (D): Author, non-profit founder, and student, he is most well-known for testimony in the Iowa House Judiciary committee in 2011 about growing up with two moms during debate over same sex marriage, has raised more than $55,000 for campaign.
Janice Weiner (D): retired Foreign Service Officer for the State Department, ran unsuccessfully for the Iowa City School board in June 2016