Grassroots Video Part 2

Posted by System Admin at 01:41 PM |

Grassroots Video Part 1

Posted by System Admin at 01:39 PM |


Iowa Dental Association
Electronic Press Kit

The Iowa Dental Association is the largest association representing the oral health profession in the State of Iowa. Nearly 90 percent of dentists practicing in Iowa are members of our 153-year-old association. We provide the opportunity for dentists to enhance their profession by working together to passionately advocate for quality oral health care for all Iowans.

Iowa dentists and the Iowa Dental Association are the leading oral health policy advocates in Iowa. Association leaders work with the state and federal policymakers daily on behalf of patients, dentists, and the health care community. Our member dentists work tirelessly to provide services to all Iowans through programs like Iowa Mission of Mercy, Give Kids a Smile®, Donated Dental Services, and many more.

We invite you to contact the Iowa Dental Association for information or direction regarding any oral health care news story you have. We can provide professional expertise and perspective on oral health care issues of great importance to Iowans.

Dr. Richard Bokemper, President
Iowa Dental Association

Learn more about the Iowa Dental Association by clicking here.

Download Logo (png file, 32 KB)

Recent Press Releases
February 3, 2014 -  Governor to declare February Children's Dental Health Month
Oct. 18/19, 2013 - (website and print, includes video)
Free dental clinic attracts thousands, continues Saturday
Oct. 18, 2013 - Some started lining up 8 hours before it opens
Oct. 18, 2013 - FINALLY SMILING: Over 800 Get Free Dental Care

Dr. Richard Bokemper, President
Lawrence F. Carl, CAE, Executive Director
Barbara Blough, Assistant Director

8797 NW 54th Ave., Suite 100
Johnston, IA 50131

Mailing Address
PO Box 31088
Johnston, IA 50131-9478

Local Phone: 515-331-2298
Toll-free Phone: 800-828-2181
Fax: 515-334-8007

Board of Trustees
President: Dr. Richard Bokemper, Sergeant Bluff (photo)
President-Elect: Dr. Martin Gleason, Fairfield (photo)
Vice-President: Dr. Ryan Stuntz, Farley (photo)
Immediate Past President: Dr. Thomas Peek, Cedar Rapids (photo)
Speaker of the House: Dr. Heyo Tjarks, Dubuque (photo)
Davenport District Trustee: Dr. James Larson, Davenport (photo)
Des Moines District Trustee: Dr. Zackary Kouri, Des Moines (photo)
Dubuque District Trustee: Dr. Thomas King, Dubuque (photo)
Fort Dodge District Trustee: Dr. Robert Ronconi, Fort Dodge (photo)
North Central District Trustee: Dr. Nathan Hehr, Mason City (photo)
Northwest District Trustee: Dr. Shamayne Frank, Sioux City (photo)
Southeast District Trustee: Dr. Cynthia Phillips, Ottumwa (photo)
Southwest District Trustee: Dr. Maria Fuller, Corning (photo)
University District Trustee:  Dr. Shawn Hedlund (photo
Waterloo District Trustee: Dr. John Arend, Independence (photo)

District Map:Click here to view the district map of the IDA (PDF file, 63 KB)

Iowa Mission of Mercy
Learn more about Iowa Mission of Mercy by clicking here.
Summit Award Video Recap (link)
2011 Video Recap (link)
2011 Photo Recap (link)
2010 Video Recap (link)
2010 Photo Recap (link)
2009 Video Recap (link)
2009 Photo Recap (link)
2008 Video Recap (link)
2008 Photo Recap (link)
Iowa Journal Excerpt (PDF file, 1,251 KB)

Download Iowa Mission of Mercy Logo: Color (PDF file, 24 KB)

Other Community Services
Learn more about Iowa Dental Association's other community services by clicking here.

Access to Oral Health Care: A Critical Challenge
Download Document (PDF file, 4.36 MB)

Legislative Priorities
Download 2018 Legislative Priorities (PDF file, 1.53 MB)

Posted by System Admin at 12:01 PM |

Iowa Dental Association

The Iowa Dental Association (IDA) is divided into ten component districts. Each component district maintains local leadership and elects representatives to the IDA Board of Trustees and the IDA House of Delegates.

For the IDA address and phone number, click on "Contact IDA" below.

Posted by System Admin at 01:50 PM |

Community Services

National Children's Dental Health Month (NCDHM)
NCDHM is an annual public service program directed by the ADA each February. The IDA and its components coordinate community activities to educate children about the value of good dental health.

"Give Kids A Smile! " Day (GKAS)
On one day in February each year, dentists across the nation provide free oral health care to thousands of low-income children.  Each year approximately 450,000 children nationwide benefit from more than 1,500 events.

Donated Dental Services (DDS)
The Donated Dental Services is a program to assist disabled or elderly people who cannot afford comprehensive dental treatment and have no other financial assistance.  Contact DDS at (515) 964-0034 or (800) 985-0034 to file an application.  An application can also be filed through the web site at: Since the inception of the program, Iowa dentists and labs have donated $4.4 million of comprehensive treatment for 1,311 vulnerable people. 

Iowa Mission of Mercy (IA MOM)
The Iowa Mission of Mercy is held on a yearly basis in a different location throughout the State of Iowa.  The Iowa MOM provides two days of free dental care on a first come-first serve basis.  In eight years, the Iowa Mission of Mercy has provided 10,754 patients with more than $7.5 million in free dental care.  For more information, click here.

For a listing of other related organizations, click on "Patient Resources".

Continue reading "Community Services" »

Posted by System Admin at 12:09 PM |

Iowa Dental Political Action Committee (IDPAC)

The Iowa Dental Political Action Committee (IDPAC) is a grassroots network of dentists committed to educating their local elected and appointed state policy makers on issues affecting dentistry. It is a voluntary, nonprofit, unincorporated committee of individual dentists and others and is not affiliated with any political party. The Committee is an independent, autonomous organization and is not a branch or subsidiary of any national or other political action committee.

The purposes of the Committee are:
  1. To promote and strive for the improvement of government by encouraging dentists and others to take a more active and effective role in government affairs.
  2. To encourage dentists and others to understand the nature and actions of their government, as to important political issues, and as to the records of office-holders and candidates for elective office.
  3. To assist dentists and others in organizing themselves for more effective political action and in carrying out their civic responsibilities.
Membership is open to any dentist, their spouse, members of their immediate family, and others, subject to payment of an annual contribution to the Committee. Categories of membership and contributions are established by the Board of Directors. The Board consists of not more than 20 members who serve staggered three-year terms of office. There is an annual meeting held at a date and time selected by the chair, and special meetings may be called.

To make a contribution, click here.

Continue reading "Iowa Dental Political Action Committee (IDPAC)" »

Posted by System Admin at 09:25 AM |